Electoral Commission officially announces the numbers of electoral lists of political entities

Thursday, 12 October 2017 15:41

Independent Commission for elections and referendum in the Kurdistan Region on Thursday announced the distribution of the numbers of electoral lists on the political entities that will participate in the elections.

The Electoral Commission spokesman Shirwan Zirar told reporters in Erbil today, that the Commission has distributed today the numbers of electoral lists to registered entities to participate in the upcoming parliamentary elections.

He denied the existence of political pressures to postpone the elections, saying, "We confirm that we are ready to hold elections in the four provinces in the Kurdistan Region."

Zirar stressed that the Commission can not conduct elections in Kirkuk and areas outside the administration of the Kurdistan Region without issing a law by the Parliament of Kurdistan.